M&M Moments: Trust Fall

Posted: May 20, 2013 in Christian, Christianity, M&M
Tags: , , , ,

20130520-202949.jpg

“And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.” – John 10:28

The “trust fall” is a game people like to play where one person crosses his arms and falls backwards trusting in a person behind them to catch them. Mattie and Macie like to play this game as well. Sometimes it’s on purpose and sometimes it’s not.

Macie is a pro at the trust fall. She performs this stunt nightly after the girls’ bath. This is the time of the night when they tend to act really silly. Macie gets so excited that she goes limp and falls backwards onto the carpet or onto one of us who is usually sitting in the floor with her.

Sometimes Macie falls back and bumps her head against the wall or some other hard object. Then the tears begin to flow. She trusts us and has the faith that we’ll always be there to catch her.

20130523-204018.jpg

There are other times when they fall back unintentionally. An example of this happened the other day at church. We were waiting to do a sound check and we were sitting at the bottom of the platform steps. The girls were walking around, and, of course, they thought it would be fun to climb the steps.

Everything was going fine until Mattie fell backwards. I gasped and lunged forward and caught her with one hand just in time to stop her head from hitting the lower step. We were all shaken and Mattie cried. I thank God that I was there to catch her.

I am also thankful that God is always there to catch me when I fall. I have total safety and security in His strong arms.

There are many ways we can fall in life. We can fall into sin. We can fall in failure of a task that was dear to our heart. We can fall when trials and storms come our way. But we can rest in the fact that, though we fall, God is always there to catch us. He will never let us slip from His grasp.

I won’t always be there to catch my girls. I may be away at work or not close enough to catch them. One day they’ll grow up and my hand will be out of reach. But I can trust that God will be there to catch them.

He can catch you too. When you fall, just trust in His hand.

20130522-230518.jpg

<a

Leave a Reply

