Shattered

Posted: February 6, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

20130206-000040.jpg
And the one went out from me, and I said, Surely he is torn in pieces; and I saw him not since:
Genesis 44:28

Sometimes no matter how hard we try, things seem to work out differently than we had planned. This was the case one day as I was working at a local printing business. We had been called to install a new light on the outside of the building for security purposes. The kind of light I was installing is called a wall pack, and it was big and heavy.

These lights have a large hinged cover on the front with a thick glass lens that is used to cover the bulb. The hinged cover stays on the light fixture securely except for when it is open. Then it can be completely removed by sliding it to the right. A safety wire is usually hooked between the cover and the rest of the light to prevent it from falling.

I had finished mounting and wiring the light and I was attempting to install the hinged cover. All I had to do was hook on the safety wire and I would be done. The whole time I was doing this, I was consciously aware of the fact that I needed to be extremely careful not to drop the cover. I was constantly thinking “be careful” as I was screwing on the safety wire.

Then it happened. My hand slipped and time seemed to slow down as I watched helplessly as the cover fell in slow motion. It landed on the pavement and shattered into a million pieces. I was sick. Sick that it had happened. Sick with myself for letting it happen. Wondering how it happened when I had been so careful to make sure that it wouldn’t happen. But it did happen.

My incident with the cover is insignificant compared to the hopes and dreams that have been shattered. Jacob’s world was shattered when he came to believe that Joseph had been torn to pieces by a wild animal. I’m sure he had big hopes and dreams for his favorite son. Perhaps he would inherit all of Jacob’s possessions and lead the family and his herds. It was a noble dream. But God had other plans, and Joseph was taken away. The dream was dead.

Either we have had that happen to us, or we will have it happen. God tends to bring us to a place where he asks us to let go of that which is dearest to us.

It happened with me. I had great and mighty plans. I had fasted and prayed for hours each day to make sure that I was on the right path. I had planned out the girl I wanted to marry and how I would go into the ministry as an evangelist. I would sing and preach. But God had other plans. The girl broke my heart and I watched as all that I had planned shattered and crumbled. I was broken.

Maybe you are broken as you read this. Maybe your world has come crashing down beyond your control. Maybe you have obeyed God and done everything right and, yet, the bottom has fallen out. Take heart for you are not alone. Many great Christians of old have been where you are and watched as God took their broken dreams and replaced them with His own. And His way is always better. His way is best.

Soon your Joseph will be restored, and, this time, he will be a prince. Jacob could have never fathomed in his early years the riches his family would know. He was placed among the elites of the day. God’s way is best.

The pain I suffered caused me to leave my church of 16 years to attend a new one. I needed a new beginning. I arrived there shattered and broken. There I met my wonderful wife and now we are blessed with beautiful twin daughters. I play my guitar and sing in front of hundreds of people every week. God restored and renewed my life. His way is best.

I drove to the shop that day hoping that I might find a replacement cover. I walked in and was thrilled to find a spare cover laying on the shelf. It worked perfectly and I thank God as I rode back to install it.

If you are broken today and your dreams have been shattered, turn it over to The Lord. He may just have a place for you in the royal halls of Egypt. Our plan may be beloved, but God’s plan is best.

Leave a Reply

