Electric theology

Posted: January 4, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Well, here goes. This is my first try at a blog. I’m not sure what I’m doing, so I don’t know how this will turn out. This post will serve to explain purpose of my blog.
Years ago, I felt as though The Lord was calling me to preach, but, so far, The Lord has chosen to keep me in a secular occupation. I pursued going into the ministry many times, but God always closed the door. It seemed like I would always be “just an electrician.”
I struggled with this for years, wondering why The Lord kept me out of “the ministry.” I was intimidated by people in “the ministry” who I felt looked down on me for being “just an electrician.” Well, through many circumstances and lessons from The Lord, I learned that, if you are Christian, you are in the ministry. We are all to be a light to those in our circle of influence. There are people out there that those in the “ministry” could never reach, but you and I can. Don’t take me wrong. God has a special purpose for those in “full time ministry”, but that shouldn’t make the rest of us feel less used of God.
So, if you are a plumber, carpenter, lawyer, or whatever secular occupation there is, God can and will use you, if you let Him. I am in the ministry. I am called of God to be an electrician. This blog will be a platform to express the thoughts and lessons God lays on my heart as I work from day to day. I call it “electric theology.”

Comments
  1. Same here! Looking for my BIG calling. It was right under my nose. I am a wife, mother, and photographer. I have three very BIG opportunities to serve!
    Love these posts Troy! Keep it up! I’ll be sharing!

  2. tdmannn says:

    thanks! I hope things go well with the photography!

  3. love the blog.i also work in the electric field of construction. Today God use me a several friends to talk to a guy about the lord. There are lots of ppl in construction field that are just waiting for that person to help them learn about the lord.

  4. Laurie Stone says:

    Troy, I go to Mikado pretty regularly, havent joined yet, I love Laurens piano playing and your girls are precious. My Daddy retired from RAFB as an electrician and I hope Cody will follow in his steps. I think he would like it and make a decent living at it. What school do you recommend he go to? Where did you go? Any advice about that? Would you pray for him even though you dont know him? He gradates May 25th. Im pretty sure he wants to be an electrician. I just want him to go to the best school with the best program. Any advice is appreciated. God bless! I like your blog alot. I will share it with Cody.

    • tdmannn says:

      Laurie,
      I didn’t go to school at a tech school. I learned on the job and took some classes here and there. I would recommend going to the tech school. It would be best for him in be long run. I would recommend Middle Ga Tech. I took some classes there and it’s a great place. I’m not sure what route he wants to take, but I would recommend industrial electrical. It pays the most, but it tends to require shift work. In commercial electrical, he would be low man for a while, but industrial would start him out higher. I’ll be praying for y’all
      Let me know if you have any more questions!

Leave a Reply

